Talk

Advanced search

to JUST give pancakes for dinner??

(69 Posts)
Cooki3Monst3r Tue 17-Feb-15 15:57:47

I have never done this before in my life. In my family pancakes were for pudding, after a proper dinner.

But now it's 4pm, we haven't long finished lunch, the DCs have just had a banana milkshake and I can't quite be arsed to make dinner.

My DH's family used to only have pancakes for dinner on Shrove Tuesday. I used to think this was pretty close to neglect.

What do you do?

WireCat Tue 17-Feb-15 15:59:17

Just pancakes for me & the kids for dinner.
Dh will have a meal though as he won't want pancakes.

TheOriginalWinkly Tue 17-Feb-15 16:00:03

Have one savoury, one sweet one if it makes you feel better. That's what we're doing. Chicken leek and cream cheese in the savoury. You could do cheese and sweetcorn or something if you wanted.

KiteKit Tue 17-Feb-15 16:00:16

Today I won't do that as I have bolognaise ready but dd has often had pancakes, crispy bacon and maple syrup for dinner and I have no problem with that at all. One day won't kill anyone!

leedy Tue 17-Feb-15 16:01:24

Neglect? shock They're actual food, y'know, not the equivalent of making your children gnaw on a stick for sustenance. Also, ONE DAY A YEAR.

I am personally planning on a pancake-only dinner this evening, featuring savoury crepes (ham/cheese or smoked salmon/spinach) followed by sweet crepes for dinner.

kitchentableagain Tue 17-Feb-15 16:01:43

All of us (me, DH, XDP and 3 DC) are having thick fluffy pancakes with a selection of toppings including smoked bacon, butter, maple syrup, golden syrup, nutella, raspberries and whipped cream.

They can have the rest of their five a day tomorrow. :D

Sanch1 Tue 17-Feb-15 16:02:15

Just pancakes!

InfinitySeven Tue 17-Feb-15 16:02:59

We always have just pancakes for dinner. Otherwise it's a heavy pudding, and loads of extra calories.

Although today I'm tempted by Nandos...

InfinitySeven Tue 17-Feb-15 16:03:13