Talk

Advanced search

Cameron want bosses to give people a payrise - AIBU to suggest he tells Osbourne that and gives public sector workers a pay rise?

(114 Posts)
kim147 Tue 10-Feb-15 09:16:06

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Londonladybird Tue 10-Feb-15 09:21:28

YANBU.... However I expect that many people with think otherwise...

bloomingMargaret Tue 10-Feb-15 09:22:17

The people that really need a pay rise are pensioners. According a to age UK 1.6 million are living in poverty. Its time state pensions were made a decent amount like Germany or Norway.

poocatcherchampion Tue 10-Feb-15 09:22:48

I'm a public sector worker. I'd love a pay rise. After 5 years...

SuburbanRhonda Tue 10-Feb-15 09:23:41

I work in the pubic sector and haven't had a pay rise since 2008.

So, yes, OP. I think I'm about due for one.

kim147 Tue 10-Feb-15 09:24:19

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

YokoUhOh Tue 10-Feb-15 09:24:32

YANBU, I said exactly the same thing when I heard it.

Pitting public and private sector against each other has been a masterstroke. The Daily Mail readers have fallen for the ideology hook, line and sinker.

OldFarticus Tue 10-Feb-15 09:27:58

Do you not get an automatic increment every year though? DH works for the NHS and his wages usually go up by a bit annually for length of service/seniority, and occasionally he also gets a "proper" rise.

Genuinely interested - not sure whether the NHS is different?

WeirdCatLady Tue 10-Feb-15 09:34:40

public sector jobs are on scales, with increments of a few hundred pounds. So one job might have 8,000 8,250 8,500 8,750 in its grade. You start at the bottom and go up one increment each year until you reach the top of your grade and then stay here.

Dh hasn't had a pay rise above inflation for many many years. So basically, every public sector worker has been having a pay cut every year.

I also hate the public v private debate. Way to distract us from the real issues sad