Talk

Advanced search

To not alter booked holiday dates to fit the ashes for ds1

(10 Posts)
justfoundout2014 Sun 08-Feb-15 21:15:09

H and I separated after infidelity. My parents gave me enough money for me to take the dc abroad for the first time since ds1 was a toddler. After a lot of thought I booked to go to Valencia. Could have booked any time during the 6 week holiday as I am a teacher. I chose dates that were the cheapest to fly - the next cheapest option would have been approx. £200 more.

Now ds has tearfully informed me that h's family had bought him tickets to go to the Ashes while we are away and he now can't go. I had to sit with him while he cried at bedtime - before he realised there was a clash, he was very, very excited to be going away. The Ashes tickets were booked weeks ago, bit no one told me. H initially was angry with me for 'not checking', but when I got upset (this wasn't in front of ds) backed down and said it's no one's fault, one of those things.

I could not have checked as I had no idea about the ashes whatsoever. We have no formal access arrangement in place and h visits the children at mine as his place is too small. We have vaguely discussed holidays but no dates were mentioned. No mention of the sodding ashes. I admit I had not mentioned to h I was considering a holiday abroad as I wanted to present it as a sort of 'up yours, look what I am doing without you' gesture.