Advanced search

To bleach my hair at home?

(37 Posts)
Lepaskilf Sat 31-Jan-15 20:44:06

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

321zerobaby Sat 31-Jan-15 20:44:35

Very bad idea.

LyingWitchInTheWardrobe Sat 31-Jan-15 20:46:55

What 321 said. Don't do it. Get it done at the hairdresser and then review whether you think you can do it at home after that.

I'm naturally medium blonde, I get highlifted at the hairdresser and wouldn't ever, ever do it at home, it's just not worth it.

DamnBamboo Sat 31-Jan-15 20:48:03

Home kits nowadays are fine!
Just try it and but ensure you leave time to see a hairdresser that same day, or in the days after!

That and buy a big hat.

ourglass Sat 31-Jan-15 20:48:16

I've done it plenty of times at home and it's never fucked up.

I buy the Jerome Russell stuff from Superdrug.

M27J5M Sat 31-Jan-15 20:51:02

I'm a hair stylist and would advise against it, you can't guarantee how the dark brown will lift out your hair so you could end up pink orange or yellow if it doesn't lift well!

bottleofbeer Sat 31-Jan-15 20:51:07

Dear God, no. Dark brown to blonde needs a professional. If you're going to do it hold your nerve and don't wash it off at the orange stage.

bottleofbeer Sat 31-Jan-15 20:52:49

(There's also a very real possibility it won't lift enough no matter how long you leave it for. Sometimes it needs doing in stages).

Tobyjugg Sat 31-Jan-15 20:54:00

There's an expression from my youth "a suicide blonde" = dyed by her own hand. Don't do it.

OttiliaVonBCup Sat 31-Jan-15 21:00:01

Do you want to go bright orange?
then yes.

AtiaoftheJulii Sat 31-Jan-15 21:08:01