Talk

Advanced search

To not leave my husband because I want to be a stay at home mum?

(134 Posts)
Girl33 Wed 28-Jan-15 09:57:27

I am not happy. I have posted before about his behaviour and the general consensus was that he is emotionally abusive. He withholds affection and belittles me. Makes out that I am stupid. Makes fun of me when I change my hair.
Last night we had friends over and he was making fun of me over a time 3 years ago when I accidentally called a cup a mug. I snapped and told him I obviously wasn't that stupid as I am studying at uni and he has no qualifications. I apologised but he is punishing me again with silence and dirty looks. He has just shouted at me because I asked him to come with me for our sons immunisations as I'm nervous.

The point of this is I can't bear to split up because I'm scared. I don't want to have to leave my son to go to work or share custody, it would break my heart. I can feel my self esteem and my tolerance of him going down and down and I don't know what to do.

Am I being unreasonable to stay in this marriage for my son?

Hoppinggreen Wed 28-Jan-15 09:59:56

Yes you are, sorry.
If you stay it will affect your son and he will grow up thinking that this is how normal relationships are and he will also pick up on the tension and atmosphere in the house.
Being a sahm is great f it's possible but it's not worth you being unhappy and tip toeing around your nasty husband.

LaurieFairyCake Wed 28-Jan-15 10:00:50

Yes you are because it's not good for your son to see this.

This type of horrible relationship is terrible for children to see and quite frankly YOU deserve more, you sound great.

And you're married to a dick.

WorraLiberty Wed 28-Jan-15 10:01:35

Yes, YABU I'm afraid.

It might help to focus on the bad influence he is on your son.

Do you really want him to grow up thinking that relationships are all about disrespect?