Advanced search

AIBU to assume that this shop thinks I am a crook?

(36 Posts)
mymoonandstars Fri 23-Jan-15 11:58:09

I go in a shop in town a lot. Its a big chain store. They ran a promotion before christmas that said "buy a £20 voucher, get a £5 one for free."

I was buying £40 worth of stuff so I asked to buy two £20 vouchers, pay with those and then I got 2 x £5 free. I had checked the T&C's and assistant agreed it was fine. After all, I could have just bought the vouchers and spent them on another day. I also have a student card even though I am a mature student. Anyway, I got another £5 free the next week when I bought a £20 voucher for a friend. This time the assistant next to the one who was serving me said "No, you cant do that promotion any more. Thats not allowed" My assistant said no, it IS allowed and they had a bit of a discussion about a particular manager of that store saying they weren't doing the promotion any more, even though another said they were. My assistant was lovely and did it anyway because it was all within the terms of the promotion.

The next time I went in, I heard on the radio "That woman is here again"
The next two times I went in, an assistant has pulled the curtain open on me in the changing room 'by accident'.
The last time I went in, I was trying on some shoes and my phone rang. I reached in to my bag to get it and an assistant flew round the corner to see what I was doing.

AIBU to wonder if they think I am a crook or am I being paranoid? I wonder if they think I have a fake student card or something, and I am sure its related to the promotion situation, which was perfectly fine and legal!

DiddlyBiddly Fri 23-Jan-15 12:04:08

From what you've said, certainly looks like it confused How weird! How often are you in there?

Blueblueblueblue Fri 23-Jan-15 12:08:38

Either confront it head on and ask yo speak to the manger or stop going in for a while.

Inthedarkaboutfashion Fri 23-Jan-15 12:10:30