Talk

Advanced search

to not go to work on bus stike day

(19 Posts)
ghostspirit Sun 11-Jan-15 14:02:28

there is going to be a bus stike in london on tueday. im 26 weeks pregnant. it would take me about 90 mins to walk it. plus 90 mins back. plus inbetween i will be working its quite physical and don't get any breaks. i work in a school kitchen lots of running about... so i was thinking if i should take the day of... i dont have money for a cab having a skint week

ILovePud Sun 11-Jan-15 14:09:17

That sounds really tough ghostspirit. Do you mean take annual leave, throw a sickie or speak to your boss and see if you can be absent from work that day? I do wonder about the breaks situation though, surely you're entitled to them, your employers have to consider the health and safety implications of your pregnancy and needing breaks seems like a reasonable request.

LindyHemming Sun 11-Jan-15 14:14:36

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

ILovePud Sun 11-Jan-15 14:16:10

I think it'd hard to advice without knowing the circumstances so these suggestions may be impractical or irrelevant but could you take a train for part of the journey or get a lift? I was also wondering if you know how all the other staff at the school will be getting in that day, would there be potential for sharing a taxi? Would your employers be willing to pay for a taxi if they were faced with many of their staff being able to get in otherwise?

TiggerLillies Sun 11-Jan-15 14:18:25

Is there no tube route to take or colleagues who live nearby? With any luck this strike week be cancelled like last week's...

WorraLiberty Sun 11-Jan-15 14:18:54

If I were you I'd speak to the school about it.

If they really need you in they can either pay for a taxi or arrange a lift for you.

If they can't do that, you have no choice but to stay at home really. It's not like you can hop on a bike.

CleanLinesSharpEdges Sun 11-Jan-15 14:24:01