Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Woo or not?

(178 Posts)
babbityann Thu 01-Jan-15 21:05:46

Hello, I am new to Mumsnet. I would like to start a discussion on Clairvoyants, psychics, etc. Am I being AUBU to think that they are all charlatans just taking troubled people's money?

Andrewofgg Thu 01-Jan-15 21:08:17

You are right, but get your flameproof undies on now!

EatShitDerek Thu 01-Jan-15 21:08:32

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

RonaldMcFartNuggets Thu 01-Jan-15 21:08:54

Yep.

CalleighDoodle Thu 01-Jan-15 21:11:00

Haha yes total no nonsense. They are very good readers of people.

Shakey1500 Thu 01-Jan-15 21:11:45

There's a lot that do I reckon. As proven, there's various techniques/tricks used to exploit folk's grief which is despicable.

That said, I think there are some people with some sort of "gift" (for want of a better phrase) and I quite like a reading, but have my eyes open to it's lightheartedness and validity, or complete lack of.

babbityann Thu 01-Jan-15 21:14:44

Don't mind being 'flamed'. I just feel very angry at a 'Self styled' medium who told my, recently bereaved and very vulnerable friend that her dead daughter was distressed to have 'passed over'. She is now even more upset as she thought that her daughter had had a peaceful death. I think these people prey on the vulnerable for profit!

CarbeDiem Thu 01-Jan-15 21:18:50

From personal experience - No they're not ALL charlatans. Some are.
So yes YABU to judge them all the same.

Welcome to MN.

TheRealAmandaClarke Thu 01-Jan-15 21:33:27

Yes, they are all charlatans. Sorry about your personal experience. thanks

Charlie97 Thu 01-Jan-15 21:36:04

Money making charlatans IMO!

perplexedpirate Thu 01-Jan-15 21:41:59

YANBU. They are my absolute pet hate.
Tantamount to grave-robbing IMO.

I've been flamed before for saying this so I'm used to it now.
<gets marshmallows>

revealall Thu 01-Jan-15 21:44:53