Talk

Advanced search

To think that basic customer service today is shit?

(19 Posts)
MrsTawdry Wed 31-Dec-14 12:29:24

I work through an online agency (rather not say which) and have done for 5 years. I'm a freelance writer and editor. I have been waiting far too long for them to release my most recent payment and so contacted them via their "chat" service.

The person who spoke to me didn't apologise once...just kept reiterating that the payment would be processed today.

This infuriated me! I wanted an apology frankly and I told her that I felt the customer care was very poor and then stropped off. blush

I do feel that an apology is a normal thing to expect. AIBU though? They take a good cut of all my earnings on a monthly basis...in return I expect a good service!

MrsTawdry Wed 31-Dec-14 12:33:04

I wasn't rude but now feel guilty for some reason! Even though I am the one with late bills I need to pay!

MrsTawdry Wed 31-Dec-14 12:38:27

Oh come on! I'd love some input. smile

chilephilly Wed 31-Dec-14 12:46:09

It is the fault of the agency. The person you spoke to doesn't get paid enough to ve ranted at, let alone apologise on behalf of management on 5 times the salary.

MrsTawdry Wed 31-Dec-14 13:00:42

Well I didn't rant. But I do think that as a representative they should apologise on behalf of the agency. After all...what IS the agency if not a collective of staff? The management will probably be hard to reach...

shovetheholly Wed 31-Dec-14 13:19:46

I think a lot of customer service training seriously underestimates the value of a sincere-sounding apology.