Talk

Advanced search

To think that people don't become financially successful by being nice?

(50 Posts)
superstarheartbreaker Thu 04-Dec-14 15:05:30

I'm too nice. As a result I have not been that successful in my career due to many " too nice" mistakes in my personal life etc. When watching the apprentice it is quite clear that the most shrewd and belligerent win.

I have many talents but I wasn't motivated by money in my youth and wasn't what I would call a shrewd operator. I'm more shrewd now but it's a bit late sadly.

I work in education and I've been bullied in a few teaching jobs although I am very happy and not bullied in my ta role. I earn a pittance though.

I went to a private school and most of the richer kids were obnoxious and entitled ( not all though).Aibu that in order to be rich you have to be fairly ruthless? Indeed in order to stay in any job you have to be good at nasty politics?

angelos02 Thu 04-Dec-14 15:08:36

I think there is some truth in what you suggest. I don't know how people can pay an employee anything less than a living wage and sleep at night.

ButternutSquish Thu 04-Dec-14 15:08:42

Not necessarily ruthless, but certainly focused on the goal. You don't have to bully or be mean to get somewhere in business but sometimes you have to be direct and make difficult decisions

angelos02 Thu 04-Dec-14 15:12:13

To see the very successful speak, you can sense their ruthlessness. I watched the Public Accounts Committee trying to grill the Chief Executives of Starbucks, Google and Amazon and was amazed at how they defended their tax dodging.

Madamecastafiore Thu 04-Dec-14 15:12:14

Rubbish.

DH is financially successful and a very nice man to boot.

angelos02 Thu 04-Dec-14 15:16:01

I don't know whether OP means earnings of £50k a year, £100,000's, millions or billions?

Hatespiders Thu 04-Dec-14 15:16:07