Talk

Advanced search

To consider complaining (feedback)

(10 Posts)
Harijane Tue 02-Dec-14 16:47:57

I am in a reasonably senior position (assistant headteacher) in a secondary school. However, DS is 3 in March and DD is 5 months and so I've been considering stepping down for a couple of years. I saw a job I could apply for, very local, as a bog-standard English teacher.

Had the interview and was told no - fair enough. However, what I'm angry and pretty upset about were the personal comments made in feedback. My voice is high pitched and girly and I was told when the students asked what they thought of my lesson that "I sounded like a Muppet!" hmm

Was there any need? It just upset me, and it isn't as if I can help my voice. I think it was really unprofessional to share that!

SistersOfPercy Tue 02-Dec-14 16:51:40

Massively unprofessional of them IMO, and not someone I'd like to work for based on that.
I think you've had a close call there.

LittleRedRidingHoodie Tue 02-Dec-14 16:54:25

Omg. I regularly interview teachers and senior leaders and I would NEVER give feedback about something a candidate can't change and is down to individual response. I would feedback - your skirt showed your pants, your resources were misspelt but personal stuff is out. You're lucky. They sound like they would be horrible to work for.

LittleRedRidingHoodie Tue 02-Dec-14 16:55:11

I wouldn't complain by the way. The ht may pass that on and you don't want to be the sour-grapes interviewee.

PortofinoVino Tue 02-Dec-14 16:57:52

Well, they WERE being honest. There's no way you would be able to teach students if they thought that, would you? If you want feedback, I'm afraid you have to take what is told to you. I know it sounds harsh, but that's what feedback is for.

Harijane Tue 02-Dec-14 17:06:56

I do teach students - have been doing so for over ten years.