Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

to have voiced my concern on this issue?

(19 Posts)
NobodyLivesHere Sun 23-Nov-14 05:15:07

I'm a health care student, part of my dissertation includes the effects of early weaning on babies.
I have a family member with a 10 week old baby who she has been feeding Rusk for the past couple of weeks.
I very politely posted on her Facebook saying she should look into the safety of this before continuing to do so. She has now blown up, accused me of being unsupportive and deleted me from her friends list.
Was I wrong to have said something? I'm really quite hurt she thinks I was being mean or something.

becominglessofalurker Sun 23-Nov-14 05:31:19

I think u just went about it in the wrong way. Couldn't u have spoken to her in person or at least pm'd her. All of her fb friends now know that someone thinks she is doing the wrong thing. That might be really embarrassing for her.

ArsenicSoup Sun 23-Nov-14 05:32:06

YANBU to raise the issue.

YABVVU to do it in public via social media.

Speaking to her privately would have been better.

NobodyLivesHere Sun 23-Nov-14 05:36:03

I guess you're right, I didn't just randomly bring it up just to be clear. She posted a status saying 'xXxX loving his Rusk'. I should have pm'd her.

magpiegin Sun 23-Nov-14 05:36:16

Agree with the others, you should have done it in person or over the telephone, not via FB (publicly or via pm).

CariadsDarling Sun 23-Nov-14 05:36:35

You criticised her parenting on her FB and you wonder why she's peed off with you?

You also need a course on tact and diplomacy as part of your studies.

Moreisnnogedag Sun 23-Nov-14 05:37:47

Yeah fb was a crap way to go about it. It's snidely and finger pointing - if you had a concern you should have spoken to her privately (and Tbf she may have to butt out anyway).

ilovesooty Sun 23-Nov-14 05:46:15