Talk

Advanced search

Am i overreacting here or not?

(35 Posts)
pissedoffcarer Sat 22-Nov-14 13:02:09

Ok, i work as a carer, i visit peoples homes and help them out etc

Today, visiting an old man i see on a regular basis, every time i go in he wants hugs, today he gave me a hug and when i moved away he said "ive just accidentally touched your breast, it was really nice"

I felt so fucking uncomfortable, i said "you cant say things like that" he said "why not, it was nice"

Called one of my seniors and told her what happened, apparently "he's just a lonely old man, just tell him his behaviour is inappropriate" oh and he has form for this behavior with other female carers.

I'm actually fuming and don't want to go back there bit havve to tomorrow.

Am i overreacting??

DorothyGherkins Sat 22-Nov-14 13:05:44

No I dont think you are. Never seen Having Breasts Touched in any contract of work.

flipchart Sat 22-Nov-14 13:06:20

I'm not one for confrontation and often back down rather than create a fuss but in this case I would be fuming and taking it further. Just because someone is old doesn't mean that they are nice.
Seeing that your senior hasn't taken it seriously I would be putting in a grievance form and wanting further action.
At the very least seniors should be going round telling him his behaviour is not acceptable at all.

Four125 Sat 22-Nov-14 13:07:57

No, it isn't acceptable.
I often back down too but this is unacceptable.

pissedoffcarer Sat 22-Nov-14 13:12:47

I'm so angry

StillStayingClassySanDiego Sat 22-Nov-14 13:13:21

I wouldn't be happy, in fact I would take it further and refuse to go back or insist on going with a colleague.

Bunbaker Sat 22-Nov-14 13:15:06

The FIL of a friend of mine has a form of dementia that makes him behave in an inappropriate manner. Is it possible that this old man has the same?

I'm not excusing his behaviour because I don't think it should be brushed under the carpet, but it might help explain why he did it.