Talk

Advanced search

to send this letter ?

(19 Posts)
catfourfeet Wed 19-Nov-14 19:56:34

hi
I'm trying to get a work placement / experience to restart my programming career.

please feel free to tear the following apart smile

Dear Sir /Madam

I am currently looking for an unpaid part-time work placement / experience as an SQL database developer.

I have 7 years’ experience of working on NHS SQL databases. More recently I have been self-employed for 10 years running a ** business.

A possible time scale might be 2 days a week for 6 months.

Please see the enclosed CV for more details of my qualifications and experience.

I would aim to be beneficial to your organisation whilst also gaining relevant up-to-date skills for my future employment.

If you require any further information or wish to meet for a face-to-face discussion I would be more than happy to oblige.
Yours sincerely

catfourfeet

DoJo Wed 19-Nov-14 20:01:47

I would take out the 'I would aim' bit - you WILL be an asset to any company that takes you on, so don't sell yourself short or leave them in any doubt!

Jolleigh Wed 19-Nov-14 20:03:20

In the 'I would aim to be beneficial' sentence, insert 'working to a set of mutually agreeable objectives'. It implies your work would be more structured and you wouldn't be just dipping in just here and there.

woowoo22 Wed 19-Nov-14 20:04:09

Can you not offer your skills for paid employment?

If not, I would poss call it an internship. The word unpaid looks odd. Might just be me though.

Jolleigh Wed 19-Nov-14 20:05:31

Contradictory advice already wink . It's very much a personal style thing. FWIW, when I've had to assess job candidates previously, it's not really a given that I'd see a concise, well written letter. This is better than many I've seen.

catfourfeet Wed 19-Nov-14 20:07:16

thanks for the replies.

I see what you mean about the "aim" bit.

I would feel happier ( initially) to be unpaid as Im ,. VERY rusty !