Talk

Advanced search

to be suspicious of my sbxh?

(29 Posts)
Simile Fri 07-Nov-14 21:16:44

The sbxh left 2 years ago. He sees the DCs regularly but rarely has them over night (2-3x a year). He wants to remarry. I've agreed verbally to a 2 year separation divorce if he's the petitioner and pays the fees. But he wants me to sign a solicitors letter saying I give my consent to this type of divorce.

Thing is I lost my trust of sbxh when I discovered the string of affairs he was having. He looked me square in the eye and lied about it all (classic I know).

So any ideas why needs this letter? He says we don't need to reach a financial agreement but this is the most important aspect, particularly as I'm a mature student at the moment and will be for another few months. At the end of my course I no longer have my bursary to pay the mortgage.

AIBU being so suspicious? I've lost my perspective.

WooWooOwl Fri 07-Nov-14 21:22:10

I know nothing about divorce law, so there is really nothing to be gained from listening to my opinion, but my guess would be that it will affect the financial settlement. Maybe judges are more generous towards people who don't want to be getting the divorce or something.

Whatever it is, you need a good solicitors advice before you sign anything, but I'm guessing you know that!

DoJo Fri 07-Nov-14 21:23:24

I second the strong suggestion that you do absolutely nothing without a solicitor on your side. He is clearly quite happy to lie to you, so there is no reason you should accept anything he says at face value and you need to make sure you don't do something now which will bit you in the arse at a later date.

wheresthelight Fri 07-Nov-14 21:25:13

its part of the court documentation as part of an uncontested divorce (basically means you agree to the divorce) My STBXH tried to get me to sign one on the grounds on my alleged adultery - i never cheated on him so i refused to sign.