Talk

Advanced search

to now know what "trendy, leftish, hippyish" teaching methods are - even though I am a teacher?

(89 Posts)
kim147 Sat 22-Mar-14 15:56:45

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Nojustalurker Sat 22-Mar-14 15:58:29

May ask a member of 'the blob'. If you are unsure who they are Gove will point you in the right direction.

peanutbutterhoney Sat 22-Mar-14 15:58:52

What??? Where was this? Where do I sign up for lefty hippyish teaching for my children as opposed to Right wing fascist teaching?

Shallishanti Sat 22-Mar-14 15:59:41

groups
children talking to each other
anything that's not maths and english
actually, even some of maths and english
anything where children's opinions are valued and there is no right answer

hth

soverylucky Sat 22-Mar-14 16:02:04

noblegiraffe Sat 22-Mar-14 16:02:28

I think he means child-centred learning where kids are left to figure stuff out for themselves.

But then spoon-feeding them what they need to know to pass their exams is apparently bad too.

kim147 Sat 22-Mar-14 16:03:35

edamsavestheday Sat 22-Mar-14 16:04:13

Give is an area and Wilshaw is an area too. Entertaining when they fell out though. HTH

Goblinchild Sat 22-Mar-14 16:07:18

Me. That would be me. grin
Where you give the child time and space to really grok the experience, allowing them to explore and understand and have new thoughts.
Multisensory, not always a predictable path.
Where grading and measuring them against the norm is an afterthought.
Where not every learning experience matches your LO and SC.

We camouflage ourselves a lot, and are good at riding the waves of new initiatives for a surprising amount of time. Children tend to remember many of our lessons years later with enjoyment.
I am a hippy, lefty teacher. However, not trendy ATM. But I believe that what I teach has value, and that's enough.

Finola1step Sat 22-Mar-14 16:07:58