Talk

Advanced search

To think that it might just be time for DP to give up playing rugby.

(9 Posts)
MammaTJ Wed 19-Mar-14 07:39:06

He has played ever since we met. He started playing as a way to meet people and make his own friends in the town he moved to to be with me. We do have a good social life involved in the rugby club, but that could still continue.

He is very nearly 50.

Last year he broke his hand playing rugby and that impacted on the family quite a lot. He is the only driver (an issue I plan to address really soon), so I had to drive with him beside me to do the shopping, take the DC to cubs etc. I hated that. It still meant he couldn't drive me to work or pick me up as he had previously. I had to get lifts, the DC had to walk to school and we had to meet there (after my night shifts).

After that he said he would give up. I am now a student nurse and he is now the DCs main carer, alongside working full time.

He said himself he could not afford an injury again in that position. He has started playing again recently and got bady hurt on Saturday.

He has badly bruised ribs and is in a lot of pain. He can barely move and has been signed off work for a week (something we can ill afford).

Luckily the timing is good as far as looking after the DC is concerned, because I am on home study this week.

AIBU to think he really should give up now?

NoodleOodle Wed 19-Mar-14 07:42:58

I don't know much about it but could he move to being a coach or ref so that he's still active on the pitch whilst not actually playing, to save being relegated to purely the social club side?

MammaTJ Wed 19-Mar-14 07:44:59

He did try that for a while. He 'ran the line' and had the water bottles and also helped with the management side of it, but when they were short, he got sucked back in.

Ragwort Wed 19-Mar-14 07:50:41