Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to not understand this situation?

(13 Posts)
YoungAndRestless Wed 12-Mar-14 22:08:06

The situation here is that I had never worked in the Uk until now and I don't have a National insurance number. I started a job this month and I'm waiting on the national insurance number application. I was told that anyone who doesn't have the number yet will be put on an emergency tax code and will have to pay higher tax.

As expected, I have been put on an emergency tax code but there has strangely been no tax deduction from my salary this month. A national insurance contribution has been deducted from my salary but no tax.

This obviously concerned me and I brought it up with HR. I was told that because I have never worked in the UK before, I haven't used up my tax free allowance yet ( I don't know what that is) and this is why I have not been taxed. I was told that I will have to start paying tax from April onwards when the new financial year begins.

This conflicts with the information I was given before and I'm a little worried that I might run into trouble later.

I am really hoping someone can help me make sense of the conflicting information I'm being given.

Bogeyface Wed 12-Mar-14 22:10:01

Given that the end of the tax year is in three weeks they are correct that you havent used your personal allowance. Not sure about whether they should have taken something anyway, but logically I would say not.

Your best bet is to ring HMRC to check.

MyNameIsKenAdams Wed 12-Mar-14 22:12:11

Well, everyone is allowed to earn around 6k before paying tax. As you only have March to think about, they know you havent earnt that in one month so cant deduct any thing from you.

If, say, you earn 1k per month, in April they will see that 1k as the first of a total of 12k (they will estimate), and so will tax you on the bit that would be over your allowance.X

MyNameIsKenAdams Wed 12-Mar-14 22:12:31

Oops dunno what that X was!