Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to drop to a 4 day week even though my workload won't really decrease

(9 Posts)
RedPencilPot Fri 07-Mar-14 19:56:19

I'm a primary teacher and I would love to have a day a week at home with my ds. He's 13 months and I returned to work when he was 8 months and it's been tough.

I only really see him at the weekend as the evenings are a write off as he's v sleepy and tired and definitely not himself.

Working a 4 day week in teaching can be tough as I'm sure it is in any job.

I cannot afford to go to three days. Even at four days, I'll really notice the drop in income but I just long for a day with him when he's tiny to go swimming, walk, park, have fun etc!

Should I go for it and know that my workload won't really decrease but at least I'll have a full day at home?

MrsCampbellBlack Fri 07-Mar-14 19:59:18

Surely your workload will decrease a bit as you won't physically be teaching all week. However, are your employers likely to let you do 4 days a week, I know the school my children attend don't let any teachers work part-time.

janey68 Fri 07-Mar-14 20:01:25

By all means apply for flexible working if you want to, but just a word of warning: IME the requests for 4 days a week can be tricky to accommodate because it can be very hard to employ someone else to cover just one day. Often it's easier to appoint for two.... Is there any way you could manage a 3 day job share with the other person doing 2? It may even be worth extending your mortgage a bit to tide you over til you qualify for some free early years hours... Not ideal I know but if it provides a better balance and works for your employer then why not? At least if you stay in the workplace and go up the ladder, in a few years when your child starts school and childcare costs plummet, you can pay back that extra loan quickly

MamaMary Fri 07-Mar-14 20:02:37