Talk

Advanced search

To wonder if I can just turf over a gravel path?

(6 Posts)
Alex1984 Thu 27-Feb-14 13:34:36

Ok I am a total gardening novice. We moved into our new house about six months ago, in the back garden is a gravel path (quite large stones), I would like to take up these stones and turf this area (quite a large area 1m x 6m (round the edge of our garden). How should I go about doing this? Can I just lay turf over the top once I have removed the stones?
Should I try to do it myself or is it better to pay someone? I have a two year old so am keen to get this done ASAP so he can enjoy the garden.
Any advice greatly appreciated!
Thanks.

Offler Thu 27-Feb-14 13:40:15

I would take up the stones, give the underlying soil a good churn with a garden fork (or rotavate). Sprinkle on a thin layer of compost and lay turf. Water well for a couple of weeks.

Alex1984 Thu 27-Feb-14 13:44:25

Brilliant, thanks. Will give it a whirl and see what happens!

FrankUnderwood Thu 27-Feb-14 13:49:27

Just done this with grass seed - turf would be quicker!

magimedi Thu 27-Feb-14 13:55:08

I would turn it over, water it, leave it for three weeks & then kill the resulting weeds. (Counsel of perfection)

I would certainly lay weed control membrane before laying the turf - or you are going to have a very weedy lawn indeed!

www.amazon.co.uk/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=heavy+duty+membrane&tag=googhydr-21&index=outdoor&hvadid=23546281592&hvpos=1t1&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=6188768381650355070&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&hvdev=c&ref=pd_sl_48ogdtjof8_b

PigletJohn Thu 27-Feb-14 14:10:51

if the path is old or was done properly, it might be on a bed of hoggin or crushed stone, and will not hold water, so you will tend to get a yellow stripe in dry weather. See how far you have to dig to reach normal soil.

Large stones will tend to rise to the surface and break your mower.

btw a gravel path can be used in the wet as it will not be muddy.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion