Talk

Advanced search

In not sure...

(9 Posts)
Racehorse3007 Tue 25-Feb-14 01:09:17

I'm new here so have no idea if I'm posting this in the right section (please don't crucify me if I'm not!)
Here's the situation, please give me honest opinions/feedback/advice
I'm a student nurse atm and am going to qualify in June, I'm in a long term long distance relationship with my bf and my parents live about an hour and a half away in the south west. I really want to train to be a health visitor and have got an interview for a place in Hull. My mum is really worried about this, but I don't really know why. I think it's maybe because I have mild learning difficulties, borderline Aspergers, dsylexia, dyspraxia and (relatively newly diagnosed -last March) epilepsy. But I haven't lived at home since I was 17 and I'm 23 now! She seems to think hull is unsafe, whereas I think all places have unsafe areas to them!
Anyone have any suggestions how I can allay her worries?!

CorusKate Tue 25-Feb-14 01:16:08

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Fanjango Tue 25-Feb-14 01:16:55

I know very little about hull but have you tried searching for groups for people with learning disabilities in the area? If you had a support group you could mention to her would that allay her worries'?

Fanjango Tue 25-Feb-14 01:18:35

Sorry, didn't mean that to sound like you actually needed a support group, just if your mum knows the help is there she may relax a bit smile

Racehorse3007 Tue 25-Feb-14 01:25:38

I should of added there somewhere that the bf is in Scotland so hull would be closer than now! I don't need all that much support, I literally just have a note taker for lectures, I think it's more she's worried about the area and it being so far away from her (four hours instead of an hour and a half!)

holidaysarenice Tue 25-Feb-14 01:55:13

Could you do a weekend in hull together to explore?

Ultimately it is your life not hers.

skittycat Tue 25-Feb-14 06:30:34