Talk

Advanced search

To spoil my cat.

(54 Posts)
HadABadDay2014 Thu 13-Feb-14 21:02:07

I have never been an animal person, but DH and DC wanted a kitten. I agreed as long as the cat wasn't my responsibility.

I have feel head over heels for her. So much that I have finally been able to give up smoking ( well only a week early days) in order to buy her toys and make sure I am able to afford vets and treats.

I am still learning about being a responsible cat owner. I am unsure at times. Like wtf is catnip

MrsDavidBowie Thu 13-Feb-14 21:03:36

What treats do cats need?
(looks at 11 year old cat who has never had a toy or treat in her life...just dry cat food every day)

akachan Thu 13-Feb-14 21:05:25

Mine loves her toys! She's just got a few mice from Wilkos and a bird on a string. I give her tuna as a treat or cooked chicken.

I was the same as you, I wasn't at all fussed until we got her and now she's my baby!

WelshMaenad Thu 13-Feb-14 21:05:37

No.

Mine sleeps on my pillow. She's ruined.

JumpingJackSprat Thu 13-Feb-14 21:06:10

Cat nip is a herb that cats find intoxicating. It doesn't really affect most cats until they're a year or two. Don't waste money on expensive toys just play with her a lot smile my cat goes mad for ham and those soft cat treat sticks made out of meat. I've taught her to do a few tricks for ham. Enjoy your new kitten op smile

Sparklingbrook Thu 13-Feb-14 21:06:18

Mine has a toybox. blush

HadABadDay2014 Thu 13-Feb-14 21:09:16

Things like kitten pate. Kitten chocolate buttons.

Toys lazier pen, scratching post with dangling things, toy mice, bird on a string.

Mrsb999 Thu 13-Feb-14 21:14:00

Rolled up kitchen foil is one our cats love!

HadABadDay2014 Thu 13-Feb-14 21:15:37

Mrs may have to do that now

TotallyBenHanscom Thu 13-Feb-14 21:16:43

Big cardboard boxes with holes cut in for hiding and jumping in/out of. Cost nothing and kittens LOVE them.

HadABadDay2014 Thu 13-Feb-14 21:17:53

Now have I got a box