Talk

Advanced search

To refuse to do any more at work?

(22 Posts)
UnpaidOvertime Mon 10-Feb-14 21:40:52

Since returning from maternity leave I have reduced my hours so I only work mornings. I work in a school and am officially paid 9-12 (ie while the children are here). For childcare reasons I need to leave very soon after 12. However, I arrive at work very early so use this time to tie up any loose ends from the day before and to do odd jobs. When the children arrive there is no time to do anything except for supervise them so I do quite often have to leave things till the next day.

The problem is, as I used to work afternoons as well, the teachers got used to me having time to do lots of 'extra' work (by which I mean the things that are in my job description but not working with the children. Displays, admin, photocopying, that sort of thing). As in the afternoons there are more relaxed lessons meaning you can do quick jobs, and I also used to work over lunch time.

Now that I have cut my hours down, the teachers expect me to still be able to do the same amount of admin, but also be with the children constantly from 9-12.

I've been trying to keep up with it since September, but I can barely keep on top of it all. And when something happens and I don't arrive at work an hour early, I find that I don't have time to do it all. I've also recently been diagnosed with depression so have that to contend with, and the side effects as I get used to the anti depressants I've been prescribed.