AIBU to not trust a company that has fake online reviews? (Servicing Stop)

(11 Posts)
Merel Mon 23-Sep-13 22:14:38

My DP needs his car moto-ing and has found the website of Servicing Stop: servicingstop.co.uk.

They charge just under £25 to pick up your car, take it to a local garage and bring it back.

I went to Trust Pilot to look for reviews and found a lot of people singing their praises who didn't have very many reviews.

I did a few Google images searches on some of the profile pics, and found four profiles that were using images clearly just taken from the web. People who if you searched for them had different names, and lived in different countries, and one pic was on many sites. I stopped after that, don't think DP will be using them.

AIBU unreasonable to think that if a company arranges to have a lot of fake reviews, then they aren't to be trusted?

Anyone here had experiences with the company?

ICameOnTheJitney Mon 23-Sep-13 22:16:20

YANBU. I'm a writer and have on occasion been asked to write fake reviews. I was also asked to write fake complaints once! Can't imagine what for....

Merel Mon 23-Sep-13 22:36:48

Ooh spill the beans? Would be interesting to know some of the companies that do this.

ICameOnTheJitney Mon 23-Sep-13 22:48:16

Nope! I couldn't do that.

greenfolder Mon 23-Sep-13 23:01:47

I used them twice- first time really good-second time I felt ripped off. However, they only facilitate so really you might just as well go by word of mouth. Lots of places pick up and drop off for free

Sstop1 Tue 24-Sep-13 15:07:42

Merel;

Thank you for flagging this matter, Servicing Stop are supportive of our clients posting reviews on Trust Pilot and other media outlets as it is important that potential customers gain an idea of how a business performs.