Talk

Advanced search

to still be thinking about this family and their odd dynamics?

(9 Posts)
MrsHuxtable Mon 08-Apr-13 21:45:16

I work in the restaurant industry, for a pretty small place in a smallish town.

There is this family that regularly comes into my work. Their family dynamics seem most "odd" and I can't stop thinking about them.

There's a husband, a wife and one daughter. The man is so intimidating, I can't even describe it. He's got that stare and while he's always perfectly friendly to me, he gives off this vibe that has me on edge, like any second he could be shouting a me or something. The woman's body language is really defensive, she always has hanging shoulders and looks down, speaks very quietly as well. The daughter is the same, only she's very shy on top. Whenever she speaks or rather whispers, she's glancing over to her dad as if wondering whether she is allowed to say what she's saying. It's all in his eyes, very odd, I can't describe it any better.

I feel a little stupid posting this as i don't want to interpret anything into a family that might be leading a perfectly happy life and but I really can't stop thinking about them and the way he makes me shutter.

quoteunquote Mon 08-Apr-13 21:53:41

It's a horrible feeling and you just hope your instincts are wrong.

Pin a women's aid poster on the back of the loo doors, and back of the door leading out of the ladies loo.

If you ring them they will send you some posters and cards for the local woman's aid group.

MrsHuxtable Mon 08-Apr-13 22:23:25

Thanks for that idea, quote! Think I will suggest that to my boss, just as a general idea of course.

RenterNomad Mon 08-Apr-13 23:05:24

What kindness, borh of you. I hope the WA poster works. Maybe childline or NSPCC , too, for the girl?

FreudiansSlipper Mon 08-Apr-13 23:08:07

how sad