Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

DP didn't give my children any gifts

(21 Posts)
Red7seater Fri 28-Dec-12 09:12:01

My DP and I are living together with my children, all still Santa believers. I was a bit disappointed that he never gave them a gift not even a selection box. I bought all the Santa pressies, and gave his DCs nice gifts from me and my DCs.
I know you don't give to receive, but it would have been a nice gesture.

aIBU?

BadLad Fri 28-Dec-12 09:13:41

No, you aren't.

But it may have been better to discuss it with him before Christmas.

StephaniePowers Fri 28-Dec-12 09:13:49

YANBU.
I guess they are too young to notice (if they believe in Santa) but I think it is doubly important for step-parents to be generous at this time of year.
So next year...?

I'm a veteran of a step family. It's not easy on either side, seemingly small things like this really matter.

HollyBerryBush Fri 28-Dec-12 09:13:57

If you are co-habiting and pool income - why do you need two sets of presents? that strikes me as odd.

Ditto send his children presents separately from your DP. Should have been joint.

OneOfMyTurnsComingOn Fri 28-Dec-12 09:15:28

I agree with Holly. Also, are you sending messages out about what is important?

Fairyegg Fri 28-Dec-12 09:16:24

Wouldn't the main present you gave them be from both of you if your living together? I don't see why he would need to buy a separate present to be honest with you.

bradywasmyfavouritewiseman Fri 28-Dec-12 09:17:59

As you live to together maybe he assumed all presents were joint. Maybe?

littlemefi Fri 28-Dec-12 09:25:07

Were all the presents from 'Santa'? As DH and I didn't give our dd any presents from us....not that she noticed!
But any other presents we gave to family were from the two of us, I did most of the shopping but that's because he works FT and I work PT. It wouldn't occur to me to do separate presents.

TheNebulousBoojum Fri 28-Dec-12 09:29:22

Whose money did you use? Just yours or joint?