Talk

Advanced search

To wish magazines reflected the month they are published during

(13 Posts)
Janeatthebarre Tue 04-Dec-12 11:16:27

Why are magazines always a month ahead of real time? At the end of October, when the clocks had just gone back and I was getting into winter mode, they December issues were out full of Christmas cheer and turkey recipes. This month, when I'm just getting into a Christmassy mood, they are making new year resolutions and joining weightwatchers sad
It's the same all year round. I'm going on my summer hols, they're heading back to school and cooking casseroles; I'm all wrapped up in wooly jumpers and opaque tights, they're choosing fake tans and flattering bikini shapes.

AIBU to wish magazines would stop confusing me and live in real time?

maudpringle Tue 04-Dec-12 11:20:08

I am with you on this, it gets right on my goat.
In fact I stopped buying good housekeeping for this reason (oh and the fact they had blooming twiggy on the cover every 3rd month)

ImperialSantaKnickers Tue 04-Dec-12 11:20:20

I've often wondered this... is it related to the way clothes shops are always full of winter stuff the moment the school summer holidays start? And just try getting a new warm coat in February, when dd1 has hopelessly trashed hers in a sledging disaster.

Santasapunkatheart Tue 04-Dec-12 11:24:47

Magazines work months in advance. Even newspapers sometimes do. I wrote an article (travel) last month and it won't be published until March in the Independent on Sunday. It's also partly a psychological thing too - no one would buy an October magazine when it gets to November...they want to look fresh, current and forward-looking.

Fashion also looks ahead a lot.

It's a funny world, publishing. But I love it! Just got a gig on Simple Things - which is really exciting.

I'm with you on the Twiggy thing though....too much Twiggy!

WholeLottaRosie Tue 04-Dec-12 11:25:29

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.