Talk

Advanced search

For thinking this was very sexist, and for interrupting a meeting to point it out?

(35 Posts)
TangoPurple Tue 20-Nov-12 16:37:40

I'm a trainee Girl Guide leader, and was at a division meeting a few evenings ago.

It came up about volunteers, and how to distinguish between Leader and Young Leader. Anyway, the definition of each term specified FEMALE - between the ages of 18-65 (or something like that).

So I raised my hand and interrupted the speaker, asking if a male could ever be a Brownie/Guide leader. The room was full of ten other women, and they all looked at me like I was an alien!

The speaker was a bit flustered, saying she's not entirely sure as a man has never volunteered and she'd have to look it up properly. I then asked if women were allowed to volunteer to be Boys' Brigade/Scout/Beavers leaders, and she said yes, of course. I pointed out that I found this quite sexist and unfair.

But it started a little mini convo where one of the women said, 'Let's be serious, would you send your little girl to brownies if a man was in charge?' I was so shocked, I actually burst out laughing. I said that my dd used to go to a male childminder and his wife when she was younger, and I'd actually choose a Brownies group with male leader over a female if one existed. (They never asked my reasons, but here they are in case you're interested: I think it's important for dd to see males in 'typical female roles' and vice versa; She has no father figure/male teachers at school so I think it would be good for her to be around a male in an authoritive position).

I'm just so shocked by this. Does anyone actually know the rules regarding males running Guides/Brownies, as I don't think i can wait 'til next week to find out from my commisioner.

So, AIBU to find this attitude sexist, and was IBU to point it out?

PurpleRayne Tue 20-Nov-12 16:43:24

No, well done you. Somebody has to be the first to initiate change in these circumstances.