Talk

Advanced search

to have said no?

(25 Posts)
5alive4life Wed 07-Nov-12 12:44:07

Before i start i want to say that I work as a nanny and this happened at the home I work at not on my own property.

House is on a hill,neighbours down the end of the garden are replacing their fence and making it higher. The builders are doing some of the work from this side of the fence because its easier due to this garden being higher up. Employers mentioned to me last week not to be alarmed if I see workmen in the garden as they have said its okay.

About 30 min ago one of then knocks on the glass door in the kitchen. I opened it and asked him if i could help him. He said he had noticed there was an electrical outlet at the bottom of the garden and asked me to switch it on. I told him i didnt know anythig about it so couldnt help him,then he said 'can i come in and have a look for it?' i said 'sorry no' then he said with sarcasm 'right thanks for all the help love'

WIBU to say NO he can not come in the house and have a look around? Its not my home,i dont know who he is,and i also think its not on to use the electric from this property when hes doing the work for the neighbours!!

daddyorchipsdaddyorchips Wed 07-Nov-12 12:46:38

YANBU AT ALL!

If he asks again, tell him to jog on.

valiumredhead Wed 07-Nov-12 12:48:10

I would want to double check with my employers first tbh.

JaxTellerIsMyFriend Wed 07-Nov-12 12:48:17

No, you are NOT BU. cheeky sod.

Seabright Wed 07-Nov-12 12:48:26

Agreed, YANBU. If you'd known where the switch was, you could have used your judgement about switching it on; but a letting a stranger into your employers home "for a look around" - No.

Slothlorien Wed 07-Nov-12 12:48:30

YANBU you are being professional.

hermioneweasley Wed 07-Nov-12 12:49:02

You were spot on.

TeeBee Wed 07-Nov-12 12:49:32

YANBU. I would check with employers that they haven't sanctioned this and then report the builders to the neighbour. Bloody cheek!