Talk

Advanced search

To think a gooseberry fool should not contain pork gelatin?

(42 Posts)
stella1w Sun 04-Nov-12 19:57:34

Recent convert to aldi,s due to price. Was halfway through a fool and reading the pot and saw it had pork gelatin. There was nothing on the front to warn vegetarians or muslims. I know it,s cheap and i expect stuff like water, sugar, guar gum etc... But why wd anyone put pork gelatin in a dairy product and aibu to think it shd have been flagged up?

TheVermiciousKnid Sun 04-Nov-12 19:59:22

It's not unusual to find gelatin in yoghurt, chocolate mousse etc. (Goodness konws why.) I always check the label!

Purple2012 Sun 04-Nov-12 19:59:43

It was flagged up. It was written on the list of ingredients. I am a vegetarian and it is my responsibility to check what i am eating.

missymoomoomee Sun 04-Nov-12 20:00:05

It was flagged up, it said on the label it had pork geletine in it. Don't products usually have a 'suitable for vegetarians' logo rather than a 'not suitable for vegetarians' one.

RubyFakeNails Sun 04-Nov-12 20:00:44

It should have said that it wasn't suitable for vegans etc.

However this is quite common, I've found pork gelatin in quite a few products I wouldn't have expected. I don't eat pork for religious and health reasons and so I do look out for it but I'm now never surprised, it appears in so much.

DamnBamboo Sun 04-Nov-12 20:05:50

Why should it not contain it?

And no, it shouldn't have said that it wasn't suitable for vegans because even with out without the pork gelatine, it still wouldn't be suitable for vegans. Most foods are not suitable for vegans and no vegan I know would moan about this.

You don't like the fact that it's in there, then don't eat it. But they've done nothing wrong and it's your responsibility to read the labels. Many products containing gelatine, have the animal-derived version.

VivaLeBeaver Sun 04-Nov-12 20:10:18

Dh is vegi and I always read the labels on stuff like that as its not uncommon to use pork gelatin to set products.

StuntGirl Sun 04-Nov-12 20:15:34

Have you been veggie long? I always check labels. Some really random foods have meat derived products in them.

IWipeArses Sun 04-Nov-12 20:28:32

If it's a dairy product it's been squeezed from a living cow's udders. What's a little pig?

TickledOnion Sun 04-Nov-12 20:58:29

It's not strange to find pork gelatin (or gelatin of unspecified origin) in lots of desserts and sweets. Most supermarkets/manufacturers label product with a vegetarian logo if they are veggie.

I find it annoying when a product is suitable for vegetarians but there is no vege logo as I would just assume I can't eat it. Sainsbury's do individual cheescakes and profiteroles that are vegetarian but it's only written in very tiny writing at the end of a huge list of ingredients. I can't understand why they don't add the logo to enable more people to buy the product who might otherwise ignore it.

StuntGirl Sun 04-Nov-12 21:12:01

Why would you assume onion? If I see something that should be vegetarian that has no 'V' logo I scan the ingredients to see why not. Sometimes it does contain something non-vegetarian, sometimes it doesn't so I can buy it. It's not really hard.

lovebunny Sun 04-Nov-12 21:15:11

asda is just as bad. everything has to be read carefully. all manner of desserts contain beef or pork gelatine.

bruffin Sun 04-Nov-12 21:24:00

Lots of home made dairy recipes have gelatin in them, not sure why it is assumed that supermarkets are doing anything wrong by using it in their dairy products.

TickledOnion Sun 04-Nov-12 21:25:12

Stuntgirl It's just because it was a sainsbury's own brand product, and they normally have a V on if they are veggie. I thought it was odd that they didn't put the v on these products. I do check the ingredients, but sometimes just look for the v if I'm in a hurry.
Also some ingredients are not as obvious as pork gelatine, such as mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids or E471.

giraffesCantGoGuisingAsZebras Sun 04-Nov-12 21:26:24

raspberry shape yoghurts are veggie...strawberry ones are not! - Random!

TickledOnion Sun 04-Nov-12 21:30:06

giraffes - the strawberry ones have cochineal in which is a red colouring made from cochineal insects.

NotGoodNotBad Sun 04-Nov-12 21:35:24

Are you a vegetarian? I am and never buy stuff without reading the labels (unless I've bought it a zillion times before). So, I already know that puddings like fools, profiteroles, low-fat yoghurts, jellies, as well as sweets like haribo and marshmallow have gelatine in them. Muslims presumably read labels too. And they probably also know which products are likely to have gelatine in and are extra sure to check the labels.

giraffesCantLightFireworks Sun 04-Nov-12 22:26:05

bluuugh

tiggytape Sun 04-Nov-12 22:58:49

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

ivanapoo Sun 04-Nov-12 23:10:11

Muller Light yoghurts contain gelatine too. And I always laugh at how Percy Pigs have pork gelatine in.

I'm with you though OP because yogurts, fools etc don't need to contain gelatine, it's just added as a thickener probably because it's cheaper than using cream and/or makes something "fat free" less watery.

CuttedUpPear Sun 04-Nov-12 23:12:45

As a veggie I'm used to checking all puddingy things for gelatine.
Creme caramels, some yoghurts, all fools, and lots of GU puddings have it.

Tis ridiculous when they could be using guar gum, caragheeenan, cornflour etc.

CuttedUpPear Sun 04-Nov-12 23:14:24

It's a cheap ingredient because it's what's left in the machines after they have used up the other bits of dead animals. If they couldn't hide it in puddings they would have to pay to dispose of it.,

RosemaryHoyt Mon 05-Nov-12 00:18:58

Ivanapoo, Veggie Percies now available yum!

StuntGirl Mon 05-Nov-12 00:49:55

I dunno, I've never been bothered about this. Many, many desserts/yogurts aren't vegetarian. I always check the label when I do buy them but to be honest I often just don't buy them. Or make a home made version.

crescentmoon Mon 05-Nov-12 05:59:56

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: