Talk

Advanced search

To wonder about this nursery..

(9 Posts)
iHaveNoIkea Fri 26-Oct-12 22:32:56

A few years ago when I was about 16 I worked as an apprentice at a nursery. It was part of a very popular 'chain' of nurseries with a good reputation.

Now I'm a mum myself, I can't help but remember some of the things that happened there and wonder if actually they shouldn't have been allowed. At the time I was young and really didn't know any better as it was my first job.

These things included:

The manager of the nursery coming into the room of children and loudly announcing to the other staff which children (by name) didn't have good enough speech for their age. The kids were ages 2-4 so old enough to understand.

A member of staff forcing a 3 year old boy into a much younger size nappy because he had had an accident in his pants - to the point where he was hysterical and had poo everywhere including his hair (the child not staff member)

Many staff members would dish out smaller portions of lunch to the children so that there would be some left for them to eat themselves when we were meant to bring our own lunch.

Apprentices were not meant to take the children to the toilet as we're not qualified although we did have crb checks of course. But a lot of the time we were ordered to by members of staff.

I can't really remember much more right now but things pop into my mind sometimes and I think 'I'd be very unhappy if that was dd' and sometimes I feel really guilty as I witnessed it happen. Am I over reacting or is that stuff really not on? And I don't suppose anything could be done now?

MrsCantSayAnything Fri 26-Oct-12 22:40:37

Good God YANBU! Get to Ofsted and report them...or even better, to the police!

Welovecouscous Fri 26-Oct-12 22:45:07

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

iHaveNoIkea Fri 26-Oct-12 22:52:41

Oh dear I've never said this to anyone as I wasn't sure if it was just me being paranoid.