Talk

Advanced search

To go to University the evening of DH's birthday?

(23 Posts)
Vagaceratops Mon 22-Oct-12 08:11:19

Because MIL and S-MIL have told me that I am.

I am studying a part-time, evening degree.

I always go in on the same 2 days a week, unfortunately DH's birthday falls on one of these days. Its not a big birthday. Normally I organise a family meal, I cook and run around after everyone and make them happy.

He isnt fussed, but then he isnt into big celebrations. We are going out the next evening together.

MIL and S-MIL have made a lot of noise that I am 'letting DH down'. I said they could organise a celebration without me but they poo-pooed that idea probably because they dont want to cook.

AIBU?

Vagaceratops Mon 22-Oct-12 08:12:00

Though MIL asked me if it was one of the childrens birthdays would I have taken it off and I said yes, because in my mind thats different.

scentednappyhag Mon 22-Oct-12 08:14:19

You've made other plans to celebrate with him, YANBU.
They, on the other hand...hmm

Indith Mon 22-Oct-12 08:14:45

Deary me. Even if it were a child I still wouldn't take it off. Yes birthdays are nice but thogh we give cards and presents on the day we do the celebrating at the most convenient weekend. Work, study etc does not stop jsut because one person happens to be a year older.

SilverCharm Mon 22-Oct-12 08:16:36

Yanbu he's not ten! MIL wants to have a nice party...its not her birthday!

MrsKeithRichards Mon 22-Oct-12 08:21:20

Yanbu they are being precious twats

frantic51 Mon 22-Oct-12 08:22:04

Your DH isn't fussed, it's not a big birthday, you don't want to miss your class. So why are you even asking the question? Tell the -nosy- -interfering- -old- -cows- MILs to, "MYOB"! grin

frantic51 Mon 22-Oct-12 08:23:03

ooops! grin

UC Mon 22-Oct-12 08:26:01

Of course you aren't being unreasonable. How silly. I wouldn't have changed for one of my children's birthdays either. Life goes on, and committments need to be kept.