Talk

Advanced search

Should I quit my job?

(23 Posts)
cheekypickle Fri 19-Oct-12 19:43:17

So I'm a primary school teacher recently diagnosed with bi polar.

Was full time but decided to go part time due to less pressure that way.

So been back at school since sept but I hate it, my hearts not in it and I'm doing a rubbish job.

Would I cope being a sahm? My DD loves childminders so it would be a shame for her not to go

My DH thinks I'm being irrational

WWYD?

UltraBOF Fri 19-Oct-12 19:45:07

I think you need to give it a bit more time to get the right medication etc. How are you managing your illness?

cheekypickle Fri 19-Oct-12 19:46:33

I'm still up and down, feel depressed sometimes

Mollydoggerson Fri 19-Oct-12 19:49:22

Being at home is isolating and depressing, would you be better off with a rigid working routine and time away from family, would it be a better balance for both you and dd?

ilovesooty Fri 19-Oct-12 20:30:28

Why is your heart not in it and how are you doing a rubbish job?

AgentZigzag Fri 19-Oct-12 20:40:44

I would say give it more time as well.

Not just because it does take a while to get the meds just right (finding the right ones for you as well as dosage), but also September isn't that long ago (although I know if you're unhappy the seconds, minutes and hours you have to live are torture).

I would give yourself a definite timeline and what you expect to have happened by then. Like say if you give yourself a shitness score of 3/10 now, you'd expect to have a shitness score of 5 or 6/10 in a months time, and if you don't you'll reassess the job then.

Is there anyone at work you can talk to?

I don't think it's helpful your DH thinks you're being irrational, having mental health problems can seem irrational from the outside, but that doesn't take into account the very real effects of what's going on inside.

Is he usually this unsupportive?

AnnaLiza Fri 19-Oct-12 20:46:12