Talk

Advanced search

To think that everything I've ever looked at on Facebook should not be visible to all?

(16 Posts)
Iburntthecakes Sat 13-Oct-12 16:52:20

Just discovered that all the groups I belong to have suddenly got a new feature 'seen by'. All the posts I've looked at in the past have me logged as having read these posts.

I'm not too overly concerned about other group members knowing I've read their posts. However this new feature came in without any warning that I noticed, is retrospective and frankly I don't trust facebook not to make it for the entire site and retrospective.

I've messaged facebook but have not yet heard back. Does anyone know anything more? I think after this and the recent issues about private messages being visible on timelines I'm going to cancel my facebook account.

boredandrestless Sat 13-Oct-12 16:57:13

I have this in a group I'm in. The only reason it bothers me is that I often have face book open on a tab, and so if people post things in the group it says I have seen the post (shows name and time), I haven't seen it, but i worry they will think I'm being ignorant.

Trills Sat 13-Oct-12 17:01:14

It's not "everything you've ever looked at" and it's not "visible to all", therefore YABU because you are complaining about something that does not exist.

Iburntthecakes Sat 13-Oct-12 17:03:30

Exactly this kind of problem boredandrestless. I'm more worried about is if they make it a general thing.

For example, I might not want an ex knowing I'd looked up his profile or people from work knowing I was looking up other companies.

Iburntthecakes Sat 13-Oct-12 17:05:26

Yes that's true Trills but if they can bring this in now with things I've looked at on groups in the past then what happens if they do this retrospectively with general posts and profiles?

freddiefrog Sat 13-Oct-12 17:08:27

I've noticed this on a group I belong to and it's caused a couple of ding dongs

I left FB on the PC, went out for the day. While I was out someone posted an urgent appeal for help. I didn't see it until I got home several hours later, by which time it had been sorted, but it showed me as having seen it at 10.30am and I got accused of ignoring it.

boredandrestless Sat 13-Oct-12 17:10:18

I agree it's likely a slippery slope and it may well be brought out on normal walls as well as in closed groups.

A couple of weeks ago I spent HOURS deleting all of my "likes", my "about" info, my photos, my private inbox messages (sent and received). I'm wary about the way facebook currently is, and the road it is heading down.

However I continue to use it as the closed group I am in on there is a real lifeline, and I love to see regular pics of my cousin and her dcs in Aus.

Leftwingharpie Sat 13-Oct-12 17:11:20

I cancelled my account a few weeks ago and don't miss it. Their total disregard for the privacy of their products customers is downright disgusting.

Iburntthecakes Sat 13-Oct-12 17:13:40

Does anyone know if it shows as read every post in the group or do you have to actually open the post for it to be marked? If so that might explain why it looks like it's retrospective IYSWIM? I can cope if it's just for new seen messages -I just won't use facebook again unless I have the entire evening free to answer any messages or posts aimed at me.

AViewfromtheFridge Sat 13-Oct-12 17:14:11

They have started doing the same thing with private messages - "seen by X, Y and Z at this time", so people 'know' if you've read a message and not replied.

Iburntthecakes Sat 13-Oct-12 17:33:38

That doesn't seem to be active on my account yet aview. Can that be switched off too?

whathaveiforgottentoday Sat 13-Oct-12 17:46:39

I must admit, I feel really uncomfortable about using facebook and dislike the lack of privacy. I rarely post and rarely look at things on facebook.

greenhill Sat 13-Oct-12 18:01:40

I've got the strictest settings on the customisation of my news feed, timeline etc and regularly delete all my back comments on things. I like using it to see family photos etc and the odd chat with people. But as time goes on I use it less and less because I am aware of the data storage issue / privacy controls changing regularly etc.

The other thing that irritates me is that I have most friends only on 'important status' updates, but I often don't get their status updates at all, unless I click on the medium option, so then get all the annoying posts about pages they like / daily jokes etc. so don't get to see stuff I'm genuinely interested unless I'm inundated with dross too.

I have cancelled my facebook. But next time I am at a PC I intend to go on and delete everything (because even though I was deactivated DP could still see my profile pic last night.)

Its actually really really scary how they seem to think its ok to just change things relating to peoples privacy without warning.

Is it possible to get them to permanently erase all your content?

AGhoulfromtheCrypt Sat 13-Oct-12 18:33:35

The private messages thing I can only see when I'm on my phone, so presumably if someone is viewing a conversation on their phone, they can see it too. I really think facebook is on the wane generally. Twitter is where it's at, apparently!

mumsfretter Sun 14-Oct-12 08:27:42

You can permanently delete your facebook account and everything with it.

https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=224562897555674

I have done this as have many of my friends recently due to security issues like the 'viewed' tab! I sent an email and could see when each person had viewed the email and who had replied and who hadn't. I could also see who had read my posts only it wasn't even accurate. It was a the last straw. What next a button to show everything you have ever searched for and highlighted for all to see?

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now