Talk

Advanced search

to hope that one of you will be able to identify...

(19 Posts)
SE13Mummy Fri 12-Oct-12 22:11:35

...an influential, black female who has been/is involved in the world of chocolate production/confectionary?

Bit of background - I'm a primary school teacher at a school that uses the International Primary Curriculum. The current topic for my year group is 'chocolate'. As it's Black History Month we've been asked to identify an influential black female as a focus for this month. If possible, I'd like to link this learning to our learning about chocolate but I've not been able to find anyone who meets my criteria.

I'd like to avoid studying people that the children will have already looked at i.e. Harriet Tubman, Rosa Parks, Mary Seacole, Maya Angelou but am having no luck searching for a chocolatier .

Any suggestions? Please?

ImagineJL Fri 12-Oct-12 22:16:10

Did I imagine it, or was there some kind of Naomi Campbell Cadbury scandal?

sleepyhead Fri 12-Oct-12 22:22:45

Lorraine Pascale?

UltraBOF Fri 12-Oct-12 22:26:18

Is it just me, or is this going to end up seeming a bit racist? Maybe it's the Naomi Campbell reference that has pinged my memory about her bringing a court case about being described as chocolate. I don't recall the details, but I'm wondering about the associations you could be setting up.

CoolaSchmoola Fri 12-Oct-12 22:33:16

Oprah was involved in eating a lot of it! grin

drivingmisspotty Fri 12-Oct-12 22:35:10

You may find some stories on the fairtrade foundation website of African women who are now getting fair payment for their cocoa and investment in their communities: www.fairtrade.org.uk/resources/default.aspx Not celebs but quite possibly heroes.

OldLadyKnowsNothing Fri 12-Oct-12 22:38:25

Hotel Chocolat talk about "engaged ethics", perhaps they have someone suitable involved?

IneedAsockamnesty Fri 12-Oct-12 22:39:07