Talk

Advanced search

WIBU to just up and leave?

(26 Posts)
danielleintheskywithdiamonds Sat 29-Sep-12 23:13:45

I have been with my partner for 9 years, I have a 16 year old son who lives with us and he has a dd and a ds 17 and 19 who live between their mums and our house. Dp is divorced and had to start again living in a shared house, we met not long afterwards and he moved into my rented house with me while he saved up a deposit to buy somewhere close to his children. This all took over a year and it was decided that me and my son would move in with him.

So I left my rented house and moved in, we all get on well we've had our ups and downs of course but we're generally a happy family.

Problem is 9 years on and we are not married, I'm not on the mortgage, my partner doesn't even have a will so ultimately I'm lodging in his house. I've been nagging him for the past four years to sort out the mortgage or at least make a will but he puts it off and makes excuses. I've even threatened to leave but he's still done nothing about it.

AgentZigzag Sat 29-Sep-12 23:15:14

Why do you think he's stalling?

WorraLiberty Sat 29-Sep-12 23:17:16

Do you contribute financially to the mortgage/household?

danielleintheskywithdiamonds Sat 29-Sep-12 23:22:52

I'm a nurse I don't earn as much as he he sorts all the bills and I make a contribution each month.

cestlavielife Sat 29-Sep-12 23:41:32

So yes you are a lodger and he isn't that bothered if you stay or go. You gave up a rented flat to move in so no different (unless was a very secure lease)

So decide what you want. If it is a nice arrangement then stay.

If not then go and start up anew life without him. You could consult a lawyer but ultimately as you not married you won't have much right to the property . If he dies does he want you to be chucked out ?

Goldmandra Sun 30-Sep-12 00:28:25