Talk

Advanced search

to take this part time job if offered it?

(23 Posts)
glorifiedtramp Sun 23-Sep-12 10:50:26

I was made redundant a few months ago and my lack of success in gaining new employment has meant that I've decided to do a 'post experience' course at the local Uni. I've applied for a few part time retail jobs to help support this and I have an interview for Tesco tomorrow, it's just for 16 hours a week and will really help with the bills for the next year. My background is in PR and I've made a good living out of it but the arse is falling out of the industry and I'm changing course completely now, I'm going in to mental health nursing. Last night, my sister sniggered when I told her about the Tesco job, she says I'm 'undermining' myself by 'lowering' myself to work for them. Yes, she's a bit of a snob but it's really stung. I have no problem with working for Tesco, AIBU in thinking she's being totally out of order here?

usualsuspect3 Sun 23-Sep-12 10:55:55

Jobs at Tesco are quite hard to get ATM, plenty of people would be very happy to get any job really.

So she is BU.

TheBirderer Sun 23-Sep-12 10:56:25

"I'm 'undermining' myself by 'lowering' myself"

Hah!

I wish there was an emoticon that represented a hollow laugh. A few years back I worked in a large retail chain that employed graduates, PHD students, people with all sorts of experience in professional careers. We weren't lowering ourselves, we were doing what we needed to get by because of our circumstances. A job that pays the bills is a job worth taking. You can always look for something that pays better or utilises your other skills and take this job in the meanwhile, if you want to.

PierreBourdieu Sun 23-Sep-12 10:59:19

She is being VVVVU. Money is money. Good luck with your studies, ignore this twit.

THETrills Sun 23-Sep-12 11:01:38

Pah.

YANBU

SIBU completely out of order.

slartybartfast Sun 23-Sep-12 11:03:43