Talk

Advanced search

can anyone help me

(41 Posts)
ditsydoll Sat 22-Sep-12 18:10:16

I am about 4-5 weeks pregnant and iv just got a shock off the oven. Just a small shock off the gas ignition that lasted a second or two and i only felt it in my finger, no burn or anything.

Does anyone know if this is dangerous to my baby?

Called NHS direct and they offered almost no advice and said if i started having heart palpataions or any other symptoms i should go to A&E.

anyone had a shock in early pregnancy?

sorry i got no answers in pregnancy and just needed some help

neighbourhoodwitch Sat 22-Sep-12 18:12:25

I am not an expert, but I honestly think this is fine x

Imnotaslimjim Sat 22-Sep-12 18:13:22

I'm sure it will be absolutely fine. The charge from a cooker sparker is very very low.

ditsydoll Sat 22-Sep-12 18:14:34

i hope so sad

Mydogsleepsonthebed Sat 22-Sep-12 18:15:14

I got a shock in my <uses MN approved word> fanjo from an electric fence which I thought was turned off when I was about 20 weeks pregnant with DD2. Hurt like a fucking bugger. But she was fine. I'm sure a cooker spark is much lower current.

neighbourhoodwitch Sat 22-Sep-12 18:16:02

Yes, and babies are very well protected/cushioned. If you are really worried though, ask your midwife? x

Tweasels Sat 22-Sep-12 18:17:54

I did. An old standard lamp got me when I plugged it in. We were fine. Was about 8 weeks pg.

I know you'll be worried but there is nothing any medical practitioner can do so early on and it doesn't sound like the shock was too bad. Early pregnancy is a worrying enough time so try not to worry too much about this if you can.

ditsydoll Sat 22-Sep-12 18:19:43

i havent had a mw appointment yet. i called our local hospital and they advised me to come down to A&E to get myself checked out but could offer no advice on the baby as they just could not say. I have been googling and upsetting myself. Apparently there is a risk of misscarriage with any kind of electric shock sad