Talk

Advanced search

To expect people actually to keep quiet in the Quiet Coach?

(31 Posts)
LadybirdtheCollieDog Fri 21-Sep-12 11:46:25

Longish journey on a full train yesterday. I had work to do, so booked my ticket in the Quiet Coach. People across from me obviously on a day out, laughing & chatting very UNquietly, but the train conductor said that he couldn't ask people not to talk.

Woman across from me took three phone calls. At the 3rd one, I asked her quietly & politely could she take it in the vestibule, as this was the Quiet Coach.

Oh boy, did I then get an earful of how rude I was being. Apparently I was a moaning, frowning bitch, and all the rest. Interesting how she twisted it -- I was the rude one for asking for quiet in the Quiet Coach; she had done nothing wrong apparently.

I'm not good at dealing with outright rudeness to my face from strangers, and I don't like conflict -- I'm not a good fishwife -- so I just went back to my work, while she muttered. I do have good powers of concentration!

So, I don't think I was being unreasonable, but what would have been a reasonable response to someone being so rude? Oh dear, maybe this is a WWYD? Teach me, oh MNers, what I should do next time!

DeWe Fri 21-Sep-12 11:55:35

The problem can be (from experience) that you can reserve seats. And get tickets where you are meant to sit in your exact seat... and turn up to find you've been put in the quiet zone. Yes that's right. Reserve one adult, 3 children and find you're in the quiet zone. Someone sorting that has not got any common sense..hmm

WithoutCaution Fri 21-Sep-12 11:58:51

... Hi, I'm not sure if you're aware of this but this is the quiet coach. So can you use your indoor voice/not use your mobile.

Not sure if that would work. People being loud/using mobiles in the quite coach really irritates me screaming children in the quite area also irritates me

Trazzletoes Fri 21-Sep-12 12:01:26