Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

in thinking DP is unreasonable?...

(23 Posts)
newfashionedmum Tue 18-Sep-12 09:42:04

He asked me to look after DD all day on Saturday so he could do a job application. I'm a full time student as well as being the main carer for our primary school age daughter, do all pick ups and make everyone's teas and do lots of household stuff (he does a significant share but I think I do more) so don't get a full day in of study. Weekends are my catch up on work time and I have a big assignment due in which I've already requested an extension for.

Last night he told me he had a job application to do which he'd need to do on Saturday. It's for a job being readvertised which he was interviewed for but didn't get, mainly because he was a bit too relaxed about getting it (it was an internal promotion). I have already lost a couple of days work through DD being ill over the last 3 days, and said I was really worried about not getting my work done so suggested he took time off in the week to do the application (btw he also spends 2 hrs a week playing computer games). He readily agreed to do this.. BUT

He's really cross and upset because I wouldn't thank him for deciding to take Friday off. I did say I appreciated it but that I didn't see it as a favour, which is what I'd say thank you for. He doesn't see it as a favour either but that the job application is 'our' thing which needs to be done (ie bcs he's the one bringing the main income in atm) and therefore more of a joint responsibility - so I should thank him for arranging things so I can get on with my work as 'he can see how stressed I am'.

He is so upset about this I am beginning to doubt myself, AIBU?

Gumby Tue 18-Sep-12 09:44:42

Sounds like you're both stressed tbh

Kayano Tue 18-Sep-12 09:49:59

Well he did take a day off when you asked him which is a bit more tricky

Is a 'thanks' really this big of a deal?