Talk

Advanced search

To puss for hearing aids over grommits?

(101 Posts)
mummyneedingahug Thu 12-Jul-12 22:07:59

DS (4) has had glue ear most likely for years and has a moderate hearing loss.
Audiologist gave me the choice of grommits or hearing aids today and from what I have read I felt pretty confident in going for hearing aids in the hope that the glue will go (soon?).
However on telling his new class teacher my choice she looked at me like I was crazy....AIBU?

Bigwheel Thu 12-Jul-12 22:14:01

I have no experience of hearing aids but my son did have grommets last year at 4. Whilst werid seeing him go under it was all over with so quickly. The hospitial was great, my son came home and told his dad what a great day he had! It's improved his hearing, waiting to find out how much. Personally I can't understand why you would want hearing aids over grommets. Out of interest what are your reasons?

ThisIsAUsername Thu 12-Jul-12 22:14:09

Get the grommets, honestly. It's a 15 minute operation and they're usually out the same day. The glue won't just magically dissapear.

Craftymoo Thu 12-Jul-12 22:15:52

I guess if you have done your research and happy with your choice it is a reasonable decision. I don't know much about hearing aids, but DS had grommets and they were really very good at sorting out the glue ear- just needed ear plugs to swim. Hope whichever you chose helps sort out the hearing loss.

Bigwheel Thu 12-Jul-12 22:16:14

his hearing improved

Needstotidyup Thu 12-Jul-12 22:16:21

My ds had grommets and it resolved the problem. I don't understand why they would offer hearing aids instead as IME hearing aids are the last resort.

Megatron Thu 12-Jul-12 22:18:00

DEF the grommits.

Peggotty Thu 12-Jul-12 22:22:49

As a hearing aid user, I would definitely say grommets. Hearing through aids is NOT like hearing naturally. If you can restore his natural hearing, do it.

MissBetseyTrotwood Thu 12-Jul-12 22:26:23