Talk

Advanced search

To think nurseries' lunches should be fairly healthy

(31 Posts)
Shimbo Wed 19-Oct-11 13:21:34

I am not sure if IABU or not as I am fairly new to the whole nursery thing as my 2.5y old daughter has just started a few weeks ago. She does a couple of mornings a week and stays for lunch. At home she eats pretty healthily, I try and limit sugar given she is still quite young and has a 1y old sister who wants whatever she is having. So I felt a bit miffed when I picked her up from nursery today to see the kids with chocolate ice cream and fruit shoots. Aren't fruit shoots laden with sugar?

At home they usually have yoghurt or fruit for pud and never sugary drinks, mostly water and a bit of diluted fruit juice. She does have ice cream/cake/crisps/biscuits but very occasionally, usually at someone's house or at parties.

And how would I go about telling the nursery that I'd rather she just had water to drink - and no icecream, which would be awful if all the others were having it!

MsVestibule Wed 19-Oct-11 13:26:44

You're clearly keen on your children eating healthily - so why didn't you ask for a copy of the menu and ask whay their healthy eating policies are, before you chose that nursery?

Shimbo Wed 19-Oct-11 13:29:26

Good question MsVestibule, I didn't. Maybe I should have :/ I guess I should relax a little more perhaps.

GypsyMoth Wed 19-Oct-11 13:31:34

How would a nursery afford fruitshoots??

posterofaghoul Wed 19-Oct-11 13:37:05

3/10 and a jam sandwich.

MsVestibule Wed 19-Oct-11 13:39:03