Talk

Advanced search

To not want Michelle Collins in Corrie

(20 Posts)
said Sun 16-Oct-11 12:11:49

I can't bear her stupid "Northern" accent. She belongs in Eastenders. "Go away, you're ruining Corrie for me."

MorelliOrRanger Sun 16-Oct-11 12:43:08

YABU to watch any soap wink

said Sun 16-Oct-11 12:45:59

Well, I don't watch Eastenders, hence why I want her dumped back in there. Corrie rocks (or did)

vanillaskinnylatte Sun 16-Oct-11 13:05:27

YANBU everytime she opens her mouth I cringe!

Arachnophobic Sun 16-Oct-11 13:18:44

Is the accent that bad? I am a southerner but I studied in the north and I thought it sounded authentic?

momnipotent Sun 16-Oct-11 13:20:05

Her voice in general has a whiny quality to it that sets my teeth on edge.

Fuzzywuzzywozabear Sun 16-Oct-11 13:34:04

Now I'm used to her, I don't notice her accent anymore

I like her, YABU

squeakytoy Sun 16-Oct-11 14:12:00

I never really wathed her when she was in Eastenders, and I am from Bolton originally, although live down South, and her accent isnt that bad really.

Local accents up there can vary greatly from one town to another, take Bury and Rawtenstall, they are barely 5 miles apart but the accent is very noticeably different, if you listen to Hayley in Corrie, and it is the same as Jayne Horrocks too, it is very distinctive to that part of the area.

Toobluntforboss Sun 16-Oct-11 14:14:54

I don't like the accent but do like her in it, so yes YABUgrin

LyingWitchInTheWardrobe Sun 16-Oct-11 15:27:00

YANBU... when I first heard Michelle Collins was going in, I mistook for for the excellent Michelle Holmes (who would have been fab). It was a heck of a shock seeing Michelle Collins limping along in the role. She can't act, never could, and she's at a disadvantage standing against the stalwart cast members of Corrie who really do know their art.

SucksToBeMe Sun 16-Oct-11 15:33:16

I have not warmed to her yet, i'm sure I will. She doesn't get great lines either.

Shame Bet died :-(