Talk

Advanced search

to wonder about "Bring Back the Cane!!!" debate

(39 Posts)
Mitmoo Fri 16-Sep-11 10:25:21

It's on R5L this morning apparantly almost 50% of parents and a lot of kids have said they think the cane should return to school. I'm not sure who they asked but surely if you're hitting kids with implements you've already lost the plot?

Sleepglorioussleep Fri 16-Sep-11 10:27:02

You're kidding? As a serious debate? We don't flog criminals in this country (and a good thing too) and yet we should do it to kids? What was r5l thinking?

sistersootica Fri 16-Sep-11 10:27:58

how many people did they ask - 50% of GB population? I am very suspicious of percentages (and caning) hmm

Kladdkaka Fri 16-Sep-11 10:29:18

Yeah! State sanctioned child abuse. Great idea.

kat2504 Fri 16-Sep-11 10:31:23

Ridiculous. As a teacher I would never even contemplate deliberately harming a child and would never, even if it was legal, work in a school where adults were encouraged/allowed to treat children in this way.

notherdaynotherdollar Fri 16-Sep-11 10:32:46

well what we are doing at the moment definitely isnt working is it so maybe its time to rethink

SenoritaViva Fri 16-Sep-11 10:33:54

The army are not allowed to torture terrorists (rightly). Why should we be allowed to torture our children?

wearingpurple Fri 16-Sep-11 10:35:01

NO child of mine would be setting foot in a school where corporal punishment was used.

LadyBeagleEyes Fri 16-Sep-11 10:35:30

No way never, ever in a million years would I ever have allowed a teacher to hit my child with what is basically a weapon.

kat2504 Fri 16-Sep-11 10:35:52