Talk

Advanced search

To not straighten my hair after my boss telling me to?

(246 Posts)
katecreate Thu 15-Sep-11 16:38:02

I work as a concierge and thus always on view to the public. I also have curly hair. Today, my boss took me aside to tell me that my hair looks unkempt as it is and that it would be in the interest of me keeping the job to straighten it!

Now, my hair get a bit frizzy sometimes but is otherwise well maintained. It is naturally curly and I like it that way. I told my boss (politely) where to stick it and he just said that I agreed when I signed my contract to be presentable and I should suck it up (he would like to wear a beard but it would be frowned upon apparently hmm...not the same thing either!). That he takes a dim view of me arguing with him.

I think he is totally wrong to ask me to change something about myself and that it is verging on the discrimatory. However, I also know how difficult it would be to find another job too in this market. I know the job centre would take a dim view of getting sacked!

Thoughts?

ILoatheMickeyMouseClubhouse Thu 15-Sep-11 16:39:34

YANBU, maybe just tie it back for work or something?

Proudnscary Thu 15-Sep-11 16:39:53

Yes you bloody well should straighten your hair AND have gel nails applied.

And welcome to Mumsnet.

Fimbo Thu 15-Sep-11 16:40:02

Surely they wouldn't be able to sack you on the grounds of curly hair hmm

katecreate Thu 15-Sep-11 16:40:48

It is tied back about 80% of the time. I like to show it off on really good hair days smile

katecreate Thu 15-Sep-11 16:41:38

Thanks for the welcome. I was sent here by a friend who ahd to convince me it was ok because I'm not a mum!

ILoatheMickeyMouseClubhouse Thu 15-Sep-11 16:42:05

I would just keep it tied back each day then. Was it tied back the day your boss told you it looked untidy?

ColdSancerre Thu 15-Sep-11 16:42:56