Talk

Advanced search

to want my annual leave before or after ML instead of just a payment?

(14 Posts)
MrsHuxtable Wed 14-Sep-11 15:33:08

Ahhhh,
my boss is being complicated again. I spoke to him earlier on the phone about how he wanted to handle my annual leave next year when I'm on ML. I asked him whether he wanted to add it at the start or end of my ML and he said that he wasn't going to do that but instead pay me 1 weeks worth of holiday pay every three months that I'm off.
Now I don't want that and have in the meanwhile found information that suggests he can't do that.

How did everyone else's employers handle annual leave and ML?
We have no written maternity policy handbook or HR department.

Paschaelina Wed 14-Sep-11 15:36:27

I was given the option of starting straight back and having the leave another time, or tacking it onto the end of ML. Once I decided not to go back to work, they paid me instead.

I'm no expert, but I think they have to treat you as if you were working as normal, therefore you should have the option to add the leave on. I don't know anyone who has not been given the option to tack it on.

Paschaelina Wed 14-Sep-11 15:37:32

*therefore you should have the right to take the leave as leave, (I meant to say)

Paschaelina Wed 14-Sep-11 15:39:54

see here, under Holiday Entitlement

whackamole Wed 14-Sep-11 15:40:42

I am taking 2 weeks from next week, then going on ML and have (provisionally) said I will take the full year off. I know that my work will allow me to take all my holiday allowance for next year after my ML if I wanted.

I don't think they are allowed to do that either.

This from direct.gov.uk:

Holiday entitlement
You build up all your entitlements to paid holiday through all of your Statutory Maternity Leave. This is even if your employment contract says you are entitled to more than the statutory minimum.