Talk

Advanced search

To feel guilty for not working ft?

(11 Posts)
LaughingGiraffe Tue 23-Aug-11 23:32:00

Firstly I acknowledge that this thread has been inspired by another recent thread, sorry if this is bad form. I have always worked, ft, pt, nearly ft, sessional, you name it. I am a Social Worker, so I do find stress can be an issue for me. I find everything much easier to cope with when I am pt. I have 3 dc. 11, 8 and 4. I currently work 3 days a week and this works for me. However I currently find myself feeling guilty as I will have some child free time for two days a week. I was planning on catching up on housework, batch cooking and doing an OU course in this time. So am I being unreasonable? We can manage with my pt wage, but I worry about saving money for dc in the future, university etc.

rhondajean Tue 23-Aug-11 23:33:56

Not BU, and dont let anyone tell you you are, you do a worthwhile job and your hardly planning sitting around in your spare time.

And you arent putting yourself in financial difficulties, so stop worrying.

MissVerinder Tue 23-Aug-11 23:35:31

YANBU.

If you can manage, you can manage.

SinicalSal Tue 23-Aug-11 23:36:29

Don't be thinking of messing up something that works for you for the sake of appeasing other people. Suit yourself, nobody else cares beyond passing the odd remark.l

AnyFucker Tue 23-Aug-11 23:38:12

< ahem >

I work 2 and a half days a week

Both my dc are in senior school

I don't have one ounce of guilt

LaughingGiraffe Tue 23-Aug-11 23:51:38