Talk

Advanced search

to think I'm being a bit naff?

(35 Posts)
LaLaLaLayla Mon 22-Aug-11 15:21:42

OK, so I am an 'Executive Assistant' which is basically a secretary. I have just started a new job and have got the proof through for my business cards. I have a degree and am half way through my MBA. My business cards say this:

Layla Turner
BSc (Hons) PG Cert Bus Admin

Does this look a bit naff? For a secretary (I mean Executive Assistant?). My job title is not on the business cards.

Would really appreciate your honesty. Thanks.

squeakytoy Mon 22-Aug-11 15:24:19

Yep, it does look a bit naff to be honest.

Layla Turner
Executive Assistant

Is all you need.

summertimeblews Mon 22-Aug-11 15:24:44

having business cards is a bit naff

but yes the other stuff is naff too

dont think i have ever put my BSc(Hons) on anything except a job app

TalcAndTurnips Mon 22-Aug-11 15:25:13

If there was a lot more swearing in your job, would you be a 15 cert and not just a PG?

grin

I think you should definitely big it up - you are not just a secretary.

switchtvoffdosomelessboring Mon 22-Aug-11 15:26:37

At first glance it looks like a cinema ad for a new family film about buses . Go with squeaky's suggestion

overmydeadbody Mon 22-Aug-11 15:26:57

Layla Turner

Is that your real name?

That's a good name. I like it.

Ephiny Mon 22-Aug-11 15:27:46

Depends what is the norm in your industry, if everyone puts their bachelor's degree etc then fine. Personally I wouldn't, though. Maybe professional qualifications directly related to the job, but not a BSc.

Why wouldn't you put your job title? I would have thought that would be more relevant.

overmydeadbody Mon 22-Aug-11 15:27:48

and I agree with squeeky's suggestion

scuzy Mon 22-Aug-11 15:30:08

why would you need a business card? genuine question.

PortBlacksandIsLovelyInAutumn Mon 22-Aug-11 15:37:47

I get loads of work from handing out my business cards - they're not naff at all...hmm