Talk

Advanced search

To think that this is really sad and worry that all teenagers think like this??

(28 Posts)
allibaba Fri 19-Aug-11 16:45:46

Just to explain, I'm no expert on teenagers, and am a long way off being as have DS1 17 mo and 22 weeks pg with DS2.

Anyway, was sat in hair dressers yesterday with 18/19 year old sat in chair next to me. Hairdresser asks "Are you happy you're having a boy or did you want a girl?" - (As a side point I am fed up of being asked this, like it makes a sodding difference as long as baby is happy and healthy!). But back to story..

I say "I've already got all the boys clothes so won't cost me as much this time. Besides I'm not very good with pink and dresses as I hated those when I was little and my mum couldn't get me to wear a dress. I was such a tomboy."

To which girl in next seat (earwigging) comments that she knows what I mean and was exactly the same as a little girl until she got to secondary school. Then she says "but I soon changed as being a tomboy gets you nowhere. So I discovered fashion and fit in with the rest of the other girls."

WTF? Ok, so I was bullied at secondary school but I take the view that that was their problem with their own sad little lives and not mine so I rose above it and I certainly didn't change my appearance just to "fit in".

Have I missed something as I notice that ALL teenagers look the same, but could be just becuase you always think that the older you get. But do some kids really try to change themselves to do this? Is self esteem really that low? Or am I missing the point? And how does being a tomboy get you nowhere?!

And calm.. smile

GwendolineMaryLacey Fri 19-Aug-11 16:49:07