Talk

Advanced search

to be VERY confused by my benefits claim

(34 Posts)

I've never done this before, and am getting soooo confused sad I've been employed since I left school and wasnt expecting to be unemployed so havent planned for it at all, and havent got a clue what I need to do sad

The only thing that has changed since last week is that I'm now no longer on unpaid mat leave, I'm officially unemployed. Last week we were entitled to family allowance and £10 pw child tax cred. Without going into too much detail, we now seem to be entitled to £60pw child tax cred, and working tax cred, plus JSA and family allowance, meaning that benefits entitlement nearly equals DHs earnings (not in a low paid job either)!! shock
I dont understand, when I did the tax cred form, I put on there that I wouldnt equal my earnings this year as I would be unemployed.
Surely this is completely wrong and cant have changed so much without anything actually changing?!

Plus, to add to this, we've got our child tax cred as a cheque, in DHs name? Even though I wrote that I was primary caregiver and gave bank acc details?

Is anyone more experienced around?

knobbysEx Mon 15-Aug-11 22:24:36

Have you filled this out? May throw light on it

http://taxcredits.hmrc.gov.uk/Qualify/DIQHousehold.aspx

It was the direct gov calculator that I filled out, I'll try that other one now...

elliejjtiny Mon 15-Aug-11 22:29:29

child tax credit should go to you as you are the primary care giver, working tax credit should go to your dh. If you look onthis website
you can check your benefits are right. Sometimes the benefits system surprises you in a good way, when ds3 was born our tax credits went up by loads and I thought they must have made a mistake but they hadn't.

HauntedLittleLunatic Mon 15-Aug-11 22:30:45

First things that come to mind are these: